We (I) caved

The clinic told us to test 12dpt, we agreed between ourselves to test 10dpt, when I spoke to the clinic about the bleeding they told us we could test 9dpt if we wanted, and when I woke up this morning, 8dpt, I had the urge to know, immediately.  I hadn’t planned on it before hand, but I woke up and asked Bec if we could, so I did.

It was a very clear and definite negative.  Not even a hint of a line.  So we’ve labelled it as over this time.  We know we’ve not reach the official test date yet, and shouldn’t treat it as over until we do, so I’m continuing on with the meds and the abstinence until it’s officially over.

I feel … it’s difficult to say.  I’m a slow burner, I always have been – my emotions are usually the last thing to show in any given situation.  Initially, I feel relieved because the two week wait is over, and I feel like I have known all along that it’s not worked.  Of course, you have a glimmer of hope, you have day dreams about seeing the two lines – that hope has felt like a stone in my shoe, I’ve felt so sure it’s not worked.  So in a way, I feel glad not to be walking on that stone any more.  I keep having moments of ‘could the test have been wrong?‘ and it just feels cruel to think it.

Of course, I’m sad that I’m not pregnant, I’m so sad that our emby didn’t make it, I’m sad that there are more delays to us becoming parents, that our children will be so much younger than their cousins, I’m sad about the thousands of pounds that have gone down the drain, I’m sad that we now have to magic some more money from somewhere, while we’ve still not finished paying off the last round.

But we’re now starting to think about a holiday for next spring.  The thought of a holiday while we’re so desperately in dire straits when it comes to finding the money for another round of IVF seems absurd.  But wholly necessary.  My wife and I need to down tools and go and spend a week somewhere warm together.  Our first years of marriage cannot be spent focusing on this one thing.

5 thoughts on “We (I) caved

  1. I’m so sorry. I know that feeling of knowing it didn’t work, but slightly hoping it did SO well. I hope you two are able to get a small break and relax a bit.

  2. I’m so sad for you two! It’s so hard to give all that emotional energy, I 100% agree you should take yourselves away. Money is money but time doesn’t wait so make the most of it 💕

  3. I’m sorry to hear this. I was hoping for you. We did exactly what you are talking about… Taking time out and just focusing on ourselves rather than TTC. It was kind of enforced for us (I needed an op before starting cycle 2) and it was actually quite freeing not to worry about it for a while. And the holiday… It is super rejuvenating to get away and just focus on having a good time! I hope you get some great time with your wife. x

  4. Really truly sorry to hear that your test was negative. You’re so right to keep going with the meds until the official test day, but sounds like you are being realistic which is so strong of you, the both of you.
    Holiday sounds like the best idea – having a child it seems like the be all and end all through treatment, but you are absolutely spot on that there are other joys in life too. Treat yourselves and give yourselves a bit of a break. I think that was one of the things that kept me going through any bad news, that I always had a back up plan of going to see my best friend in Barcelona and having many many cocktails… ended up doing that twice (once after m/c and once after various meds failures) and I always came back a bit more rejuvenated and ready to get stuck into treatment again. Thinking of you xx

Now you speak ...